Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

Chair of Early Modern History – Prof. Dr. Susanne Lachenicht

Print page

Summer Academy of Atlantic History

In August 2009 Dr Lauric Henneton (Université Versailles-Saint-Quentin) and Prof Susanne Lachenicht (Universitaet Bayreuth) founded the Summer Academy of Atlantic History (SAAH). The SAAH's aim is to bring together scholars of Atlantic History on the European side of the Atlantic and to provide a(nother) platform for young European and American researchers to discuss their research with established scholars (both from the Americas and from Europe). Meetings take place every second year.

The first SAAH was hosted by Prof Susanne Lachenicht, Bayreuth University (2010), the second, in 2011, by Prof Nicholas Canny and the Moore Institute, National University of Ireland, Galway, the 3rd, in 2013, by Prof Claudia Schnurmann, Hamburg, the 4th SAAH by Dr Sarah Barber, Lancaster University, UK, in 2015. The 5th SAAH was hosted by Prof Bartolomé Yun Casalilla, Universidad Pablo de Olavide, Seville, Spain, from 28 September to 1 October 2017, the 6th SAAH by Prof Susanne Lachenicht on Lake Starnberg, Bavaria, Germany, from 23-26 August 2019.

For further information please contact Lauric Henneton (lauric.henneton@uvsq.fr) and Susanne Lachenicht (susanne.lachenicht@uni-bayreuth.de) or visit us on facebook.

Organizers and steering committee:

  • Prof Bernard Bailyn (Harvard University, USA, 1922-2020) (honory member, 2015-2020)
  • Prof Trevor Burnard (Univ. of Hull, UK)
  • Prof Nicholas Canny (NUI Galway, Ireland)
  • Dr Lauric Henneton (Univ. Versailles-Saint-Quentin, France)
  • Prof Susanne Lachenicht (Univ. Bayreuth, Germany)
  • Dr Ben Marsh (Univ. of Kent, UK)
  • Prof Philip D. Morgan (Johns Hopkins University, USA) (honory member)
  • Prof Lou Roper (SUNY New Paltz, USA)
  • Prof Bartolomé Yun Casalilla (Univ. Pablo de Olavide, Seville, Spain)

Advisory board:

  • Dr Sarah Barber (Lancaster University, UK)
  • Prof Leslie Choquette (Assumption College, USA)
  • Dr Max Edling (King's College, UK)
  • Prof Mark Häberlein (Univ. Bamberg, Germany)
  • Prof Evan Haefeli (Texas A & M, USA)
  • Dr Jaap Jacobs (Leyden, The Netherlands)
  • Dr Tim Lockley (University of Warwick)
  • Prof Marie-Jeanne Rossignol (Univ. Paris-Diderot, France)
  • Prof Claudia Schnurmann (Univ. Hamburg, Germany)
  • Dr David L. Smith (Selwyn College, Cambridge, UK)
  • Dr Owen Stanwood (Boston College, USA)
  • Prof Bertrand van Ruymbeke (Univ. Paris Saint-Denis, France)
  • Prof Hermann Wellenreuther (Univ. Göttingen, Germany)

Organisations and research centres involved:

  • Laboratoire Suds d’Amériques et Mondes Atlantiques (Suds, UVSQ)
  • British Group in Early American History (BGEAH)
  • Réseau pour le développement européen de l’histoire de la jeune Amérique (Redehja)
  • Bayreuth Institute for American Studies (BIFAS)
  • European Early American Studies Association (EEASA)

Webmaster: Univ.Prof.Dr. Susanne Lachenicht

Facebook Twitter Youtube-Kanal Instagram Blog UBT-A Contact