Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

La chaire d’histoire moderne – Prof. Dr. Susanne Lachenicht

Imprimer la page

Summer Academy of Atlantic History

In August 2009 Dr Lauric Henneton (Université Versailles-Saint-Quentin) and Prof Susanne Lachenicht (Universitaet Bayreuth) founded the Summer Academy of Atlantic History (SAAH). The SAAH's aim is to bring together scholars of Atlantic History on the European side of the Atlantic and to provide a(nother) platform for young European and American researchers to discuss their research with established scholars (both from the Americas and from Europe). Meetings take place every second year.

The first SAAH was hosted by Prof Susanne Lachenicht, Bayreuth University (2010), the second, in 2011, by Prof Nicholas Canny and the Moore Institute, National University of Ireland, Galway, the 3rd, in 2013, by Prof Claudia Schnurmann, Hamburg, the 4th SAAH by Dr Sarah Barber, Lancaster University, UK, in 2015. The 5th SAAH was hosted by Prof Bartolomé Yun Casalilla, Universidad Pablo de Olavide, Seville, Spain, from 28 September to 1 October 2017, the 6th SAAH by Prof Susanne Lachenicht on Lake Starnberg, Bavaria, Germany, from 23-26 August 2019. For the 7th SAAH, in 2021, we went online, due to the covid-19 pandemic. Our host was Prof Susanne Lachenicht. In 2023, our 8th SAAH was hosted by Prof Trevor Burnard and the Wilberforce Institute for the Study of Slavery and Emancipation, Hull, UK.

For further information please contact Lauric Henneton (lauric.henneton@uvsq.fr) and Susanne Lachenicht (susanne.lachenicht@uni-bayreuth.de) or visit us on facebook.

Steering committee:

  • Prof Trevor Burnard (Hull, UK)
  • Prof Nicholas Canny (Galway, Ireland)
  • Dr Lauric Henneton (Versailles-Saint-Quentin, France)
  • Prof Susanne Lachenicht (Bayreuth, Germany)
  • Dr Ben Marsh (Kent, UK)
  • Prof Lou Roper (SUNY New Paltz, USA)
  • Prof Bartolomé Yun Casalilla (Univ. Pablo de Olavide, Seville, Spain)

Honory members:

  • Prof Bernard Bailyn (Harvard University, USA, 1922-2020) (honory member, 2015-2020)
  • Prof Philip D. Morgan (Johns Hopkins University, USA)


  • Dr Bethany Aram (Seville, Spain)
  • Dr Sarah Barber (Lancaster, UK, organizer of 2015 edition)
  • Prof Claire Bourhis Mariotti (Paris-Diderot, France)
  • Prof Pedro Cardim (Lisbon, Portugal)
  • Prof Leslie Choquette (Assumption College, USA)
  • Prof Volker Depkat (Regensburg, Germany)
  • Prof Antonio Feros (Philadelphia, USA)
  • Prof Mark Häberlein (Bamberg, Germany)
  • Prof Evan Haefeli (Texas A & M, USA)
  • Prof Emma Hart (Philadelphia, USA)
  • Prof Willem Klooster (Clark Univesity, USA)
  • Dr Parvathi Kumaraswami (Reading, UK)
  • Prof Tim Lockley (Warwick, UK)
  • Prof Allan Macinnes (Strathclyde, UK)
  • Prof Gesa Mackenthun (Rostock, Germany)
  • Prof Andrew O'Shaughnessy (Monticello, USA)
  • Dr Elodie Peyrol-Kleiber (Poitiers, France)
  • Prof Claudia Schnurmann (Hamburg, Germany, organizer of 2013 edition)
  • Prof Suzanne Schwartz (Worcester, UK)
  • Dr David L. Smith (Cambridge, UK)
  • Prof Owen Stanwood (Boston College, USA)
  • Prof Hermann Wellenreuther (1941-2021) (Göttingen, Germany)
  • Prof Sophie White (Notre Dame, USA)

Organisations and research centres we co-operate with:

  • Laboratoire Suds d’Amériques et Mondes Atlantiques (Suds, UVSQ)
  • British Group in Early American History (BGEAH)
  • Réseau pour le développement européen de l’histoire de la jeune Amérique (Redehja)
  • Bayreuth Institute for American Studies (BIFAS)
  • European Early American Studies Association (EEASA)
  • Wilberforce Institute for the Study of Slavery and Emancipation

Webmaster: Univ.Prof.Dr. Susanne Lachenicht

Facebook Twitter Youtube-Kanal Instagram UBT-A Kontakt