Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

Kulturwissenschaftliche Fakultät

Lehrstuhl für Geschichte der Frühen Neuzeit – Prof. Dr. Susanne Lachenicht

Seite drucken

Summer Academy of Atlantic History 2017

 5th Summer Academy of Atlantic History

Universidad Pablo de Olavide, Seville, Spain

28 September – 1 October 2017

“Connecting and Globalizing the Atlantic”


In the past few years, historians of the Atlantic World have increasingly turned their interest toward North and South Atlantic relations and connections between Atlantic, Indian Ocean and Pacific Worlds. Atlantic History has turned global – to some extent at least.

For the fifth Summer Academy of Atlantic History we invite applications from PhD students working on the history of the Atlantic World between the fifteenth and nineteenth centuries. While all projects pertaining to Atlantic History will be considered, we are particularly interested in applications on North and South Atlantic relations and comparisons and on Atlantic-Pacific connections.

The fifth Summer Academy will be hosted by Prof Bartolomé Yun Casalilla of the Universidad Pablo de Olavide, Seville, Spain, PI of the Project “American Globalization” (HAR2014-53797-P). Born in Lima in 1740, Pablo de Olavide is a prominent figure of what we might want to dub the Atlantic Enlightenment.

As well as providing the selected students with an opportunity to present papers and engage in discussion with tutors and their fellow students on their research, the Summer Academy will also host keynote speakers who will address broad themes appertaining to Atlantic History.

Prospective student participants should send a CV and a summary (3-4 pages altogether) of their research projects to susanne.lachenicht@uni-bayreuth.de by 30 September 2016. Successful applicants will be notified by 31 October 2016.

Visit us on facebook.

Organizers and steering committee:

  • Prof Bernard Bailyn (Harvard University, USA)
  • Prof Trevor Burnard (University of Melbourne, Australia)
  • Prof Nicholas Canny (NUI Galway, Ireland)
  • Dr Lauric Henneton (Univ. Versailles-Saint-Quentin, France)
  • Prof Susanne Lachenicht (Univ. Bayreuth, Germany)
  • Dr Ben Marsh (Univ. of Kent, UK)
  • Prof Philip D. Morgan (Johns Hopkins University, USA)
  • Prof L.H. Roper (SUNY New Paltz, USA)
  • Prof Bartolomé Yun Casalilla (UPO, Seville, Spain)

Verantwortlich für die Redaktion: Anna-Lena Späth

Facebook Twitter Youtube-Kanal Instagram UBT-A Kontakt